Ramblings of an inspired aspirer
Friday, 8 April 2011
Somehow I stumbled upon this..
It starts out fucking awful, but I stuck through that to reveal an amazingly done video by the local UBC campus.
I don't personally attend, but I was astounded by it's quality.
I'd recommend to watch it, if nothing else than for the fact that every view goes to charity, and the video itself is worth the time.
Props to UBC, never thought I'd say that.
Sunday, 27 March 2011
Obligatory 3DS release post
So the 3DS is finally here, this 3d handheld system that apparently rivals previous gen home systems.
Of course, for those of us who can't afford one, or who didn't make the pre-order deadline, the specs are all we have to drool over.
Memory:2GB NAND flash memory
Compared to the DSi's 256 MB flash memory, and the DS phat/lite's 256 KB memory, this is a MASSIVE improvement, no doubt this is going to give developers a lot of room to work with. I can see this lasting a lot longer than any other handheld system.
Camera:2D front-facing and 3D rear facing .3 MPOh boy, we can all take shitty .3 MP 3D pictures of ourselves. For some reason I think that this feature alone is going to sell a ton of 3DS systems, it's another one of those little things Nintendo does, it's why you buy the system, it's really cool, and then a month later you realize it's fucking useless and it's just a gaming system.
Either way, pretty neat, I want it.
Graphics:PICA200
Wait, what? Nintendo using a GPU that they didn't develop?
I guess they didn't want to bother making a 3D GPU when there was already one out there, either way, that's a little odd.
Processor:2x266MHz ARM11, 1x133MHZ GPU(PICA200)w/4MB allocated VRAM.(Unconfirmed)
I haven't actually seen a confirmation on the processor being used in the 3DS, but this is the best bets that were out there, I'm thinking 2x 266MHz sounds a tad low considering. So my bets are this is a little low.
Overall, this portable looks fucking sexy, and I want one. I'm going to go trade in every game I own to see if I can afford one without spending a penny.
Saturday, 26 March 2011
Chatspeak gone too far
This, at least to me is a tad excessive. Do we really want this being common usage in documentation now? Because that's where this is going, first the dictionary, and next students will be using it to justify themselves writing an entire report on their BFF's, lawyers using it as shorthand in court to save space and money.
Where is the line drawn from "Haha, pop culture" to "Destroying our language"?
- OMG
abbreviation
informal
oh my god!:
OMG! If my parents find out they will go mad.
- LOL
abbreviation
informal
Laughing out Loud:
..And <3 too? Fucking seriously?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

